What kind of translation should I provide?

I have started adding some translations to my lessons, starting from the couple of Sofia lessons for beginners I have written so far.
I’m wondering if these translations should look correct in the target language or if they should just be word-for-word translations meant to help the beginner student understand the meaning of the single words.
An example from the English translation I have just provided: should I translate “ho 27 anni” with “I am 27 years old” (correct in English but not letting the student learn this use of verb “avere”, to have, in Italian) or “(I) have 27 years”, which is more helpful for absolute beginners, although incorrect in English?
I realise that this kind of question may sound strange to most of you who haven’t studied translation theory… :slight_smile:
Thanks for any advice,
Michele

Michele,

It’s good to see that you’re so meticulous in your translation :slight_smile:
My opinion is that it’s better to translate the meaning of the sentence rather than the literal meaning of the words. On LingQ, they can see the definition of the individual words by looking at user hints and dictionaries, but it’s often the meaning of the sentence that eludes them.

Thanks for your advice, Alex. I have already provided the English, French and German translation for the first of these lessons and will add Spanish (and maybe Portuguese) later. However, after saving and opening the lesson, I only see the English translation available. Why?

Rest assured that the translations are there. The reason you’re not seeing them is that only certain languages appear, based on your settings. I assume that you don’t have German as your interface language or French as your native language :wink:
The system is set up this way so that you’re not overwhelmed with translations in all sorts of different languages, but only ones that will (for most people, at least) be useful to you.