Should I continue to read the text as I listen?

I’m learning Chinese, and while it’s extremely convenient and helpful to read as I listen, I can’t help but feel like I’m handicapped. I’ve been learning English for more than 12 years. I’m fluent, I have a vast vocabulary, and I have great listening and reading skills. However, given the choice between listening without the text, or listening with, I will always choose the latter. Whenever I watch a movie I use subtitles, even if I don’t need them. If I don’t use them, i feel uneasy.

Does anyone else feel like this? Are my listening skills not good enough? I listen at the very least for two hours everyday, to content that matter to me. Maybe I’m creating problems where none exist. Either way, I’d like your insight. Thanks.

I don’t know if you should quit doing it. I read subtitles while watching a movie too. I started using them two years ago and since then my English listening skill improved very far so I understand every word except new rare one (for example when I watched Big Bang Theory I couldn’t watch it without subtitles because I couldn’t understand physical terms and some new for me slang words)
My situation is a bit different of yours. My English isn’t perfect but I am tired of intensive English learning. So I watch movies and use subtitles to learn English passively. It actually works for me, I still learn it.
Good that you are learning Chinese. It’s very interesting, especially their culture. Watch Shaolin (2011). One of my favorites. =)