Will 12.000 words and phrases be enough for me to speak English like a native speaker?

Hi. So, I’ve got a dictionary that contains 12.000 words and phrases and my aim here is to reach the level of a native speaker. I really like this language and I wanna know it like a native speaker. I am studying 100 words per day. Just tell me the amount. Do we count the tense forms of the verbs also?

Interesting questionS.

12,000 individual words as an ACTIVE vocabulary – not passive – could potentially enable you to speak somewhat fluently, with a lot of practice. For your active vocab to be 12K, you would need to have a passive vocab, i.e.: words marked on LingQ as “known,” of probably 2 to 3 times that, so in the 30,000 + range. (My estimates.)

For “native level” fluency, you’d need years of practice and active vocab of min 20,000 words for English, other languages are probably higher. That would mean a LingQ word count of over 60,000 for English and exponentially higher for other languages.

1 Like

Firstly, you’re probably not going to speak ‘like a native speaker’ unless you learned the language when you were young (in terms of accent and pronunciation). I think the best thing to aim for as an adult is ‘native-like competency’ (which I see as different from ‘like a native speaker’), but I’d say the word count required would be much higher than 12,000.

In LingQ, every variation of a verb or other word is counted. My known word count here in Spanish is ~30,000 words, and I’m not close to native-like competency (lower advanced at best, probably more like upper intermediate). In Portuguese my known word count is almost 20,000 and I’m lower intermediate at best when conversing. But I’ve said here before that I often think my level in various languages might lag behind the level I ‘should’ have based on my known word count. I probably don’t do enough speaking.