What is the best way to learn conversational Chinese without the characters?

Hello. I would like some opinions about the best way to “phonetically” learn Chinese without studying the characters. I just want to be proficient in speaking the language. What is the best way to do this on LingQ?

Do you think that disregarding every Chinese character is meaningful in itself?

I don’t know how to answer your question except to say that, with the limited time I have available, I would like to learn to speak some Chinese without learning to write it.

Perhaps watching some TV or movies with subs? You could start off with beginner’s material like children’s programs then work your way up to soap operas

1 Like

I think the best way to learn any language “phonetically” would be to listen and listen often. Part of the reason why I wanted to start learning Swedish is because for months before I started learning I would listen to a lot of Swedish music and just expose myself to the language. I was able to figure out a lot of words on my own before ever even looking at the language written down. A lot of my language learning happens outside of LingQ by just listening.

1 Like