More annoying LingQ bugs

As of today I’ve noticed that Lingq is now recognizing any words that are next to punctuation as a new word. So for example even though the word Como is a white word, "Como is now blue. Also all numbers are now showing up as blue unknown words :frowning:
I’ve loved Lingq since I started using it January 12th 2016 but all of the random bugs and server outages are probably going to send me elsewhere in the near future. Shame.

1 Like

I’ve been using LingQ for many years, during which time many, many improvements have been made to the site.

I also have found bugs. Almost always they get fixed quickly once attention is drawn to them by users. For the blue numbers, I just press the ‘x’ key. This makes the blue go away. I haven’t yet notice the blue word next to a punctuation mark, I have, however, found a ‘©’ that would not go away with the ‘x’ key, I had to mark it as known instead. Not a big problem, I find, compared to the general true usefulness of this site, especially for those of us learning more than one language. The site is very flexible, allowing you to import your own text from any web source, with or without sound. You can even import whole books.

As well, I find some features annoying, such as the small width of the lesson text in quicklink mode – a result of the coloured margins and the very wide space for the section on the right hand side of the lesson text, and the automatic splitting of large texts. As this site is used by learners at all levels, I have learned to put up with these features if the developers reason that they help a larger number of users.

Actually, I am writing here about the bookmarklet. I have been unable to get it to work recently. Does anyone else have this problem?

1 Like

Yes, sadly import functionality is totally broken. Good thing is previously imported texts are still shown ok.