Simple selected feature wanted

If I could make one change to the site in any area it would be to add a simple select feature. That would make me use of the site 100x easier.

Countless times a day I have to try and hold down the shift key and select text in a popup while using a laptop - it is not super easy to do and ends up straining my hand every single time I use the site for an extended period.

Just a simple hot key C. Just like K for known and X for ignore. C for copy.

So, whether it be a blue word, a yellow word, or a combination of words, I can simply hit the C key and it will copy to the clipboard so I can look up in a dictionary, send in an email, save in a list for later viewing, etc.

Thank you.

2 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion. While we don’t have any immediate plans to add a feature like this, we will keep this one in mind!

I just programmed all necessary hotkeys myself. I have been using lingq for over 4 years and there are some very basic features I am surprised aren’t included.

I mapped:
Y - Click start/stop audio
U - Rewind 5 seconds
H- Scroll down 1
G - Scroll up 1
P - Copy selected text

Y/U I thought these might already be hotkeyed but couldnt find any info. These keys are massively helpful for listening as I don’t ever have to move the mouse. Having your fingers on both at same time is perfect. Listen to phrase - pause or rewind or pause and then rewind without ever moving your hand or looking at the screen.

H//G keys all the commands close and the up/down functionality key inexplicably hijacked by the blue words.

P solves the original copy issue.

1 Like

Please share how you did this! These would be very handy. Page scrolling and rewind while listening would be handy. Very good ideas!