Can't import Greek vocabulary with import feature

I tried doing this a couple of years ago and couldn’t make it work. I’ve just spent another 5 hours trying to import Greek vocab lists into my Esperanto slot and still can’t make it work. I’m on Windows 7 and have tried every help on all the posts I could find: using Notepad, using Excel, renaming it, filling in all 3 spaces with text, commas, quotations, quotations with commas, UTF-8 encoding, etc.

Very frustrated b/c I’m a software engineering student and should be able to do this! Any ideas that I didn’t mention? It seems like many people can’t make it work. I learned Greek in seminary and really want to continue by importing word lists from Perseus, but nothing seems to work. Thanks for any help.

I imported some Modern Greek lessons a couple of years ago without any trouble. I think I cut and pasted them from a word document. I wonder if your vocabulary trouble is because you have tried to import Greek and English at the same time? I would import only the Greek, then put the meaning of the words into the hints as you make LingQs of all the words.

Why not import sentences or phrases? It is probably easier to learn the words this way. You can put anything you like into the hints of the individual words.

I never tried importing Greek vocabulary into the Esperanto slot, but do let me know if you get it to work. Given the nature of the system, the more words you upload, the more useful the system becomes for all of us Greek learners: one of the reasons I stopped using lingq for ancient Greek was because of the lack of a dictionary to look up words.

But if someone were to upload a whole bunch of vocabulary, it would become more useful. I could probably try to upload the vocab list I created using an alternative software, but I’d need to be convinced that LingQ is really useful for this kind of a thing. :wink:

@HanSolo787

Note that:
(1) LingQ tends to choke on a long list, usually without any notification.