Confused With A Basic Sentence

First post!

I’m using Assimi (along with many other materials) and I’m a little confused with a sentence. It’s a headline from a news article:

“Eso no les pasa más que a los demás”

The translation says: “It only happens to others.” (Literal: That doesn’t happen more than to the others).

Looking at it, to me it appears to say “That doesn’t happen to them more than the rest.” Seemingly meaning that “that doesn’t happen to them MORE than the rest” rather than “that doesn’t happen to them AS MUCH AS as the rest.” Which makes more sense since it’s saying it means it happens to others more… “It only happens to others.”

Does “más que” not mean “more than” in this particular sentence? Shouldn’t it be “as much as” and how would “as much as” be expressed?

Does “les” in this sentence not mean “to them” ?

Sorry, I know this is basic but I’m still a beginner.

Thanks for any help. I hope I’ve made myself understood.

Hellion,
I am not native Spanish, but I will try to tackle this question.

Pasar (along with suceder and occurrir), when used to mean “to happen,” is one of those verbs (in this case, a special type of impersonal verb) that requires an indirect object pronoun — even when the object is stated in noun or pronoun form after ‘a.’ Here, ‘les’ is in agreement with “a los demás.” It’s the same “person.” Many native Spanish speakers will explain that this “connects” the sentence. The use of both objects in the same sentence is not considered redundant in Spanish, as it is in English.

The following seemingly over-redundant sentence demonstrates this:

Eso que nos pasa a nosotros los hombres no nos pasa más que a nosotros, los hombres.
What happens to us men, only happens to us men.

Here’s another example I pulled from Twitter:
— ¿Qué te pasa en los dientes?
— What’s wrong with your teeth? [in the photo, the person has two prominent pieces of metal bridgework in their front teeth and gums]