Why do you learn your foreign language?

What is it that makes you put in the hard, consistant graft and spend the time perfecting your skills in your chosen language or languages? I really want to get a sense of the essence of what drives you budding language learners? For me, It’s just something cool to do on the side as I have spare time since I am a student. I’d also like to use French on travels which I hope to conduct in the future. I really love getting my teeth into a nice juicy podcast when I’m sitting on the bus everyday and at the moment, Johan from Francais Authentique has THE most awesome clear French accent that I will never get board of and the subjects that he enters are really interesting.

I learn German because I am currently studying in Switzerland so knowing the primary language is extremely useful for everything. Being capable of reading German classics like Goethe, Nietzsche and so on is also pretty neat.

French because I would like to read french classic literature and because I love french movies. French is also quite useful in Switzerland.

I am learning Chinese because I want to work for or with Asia and since China is the largest economy there, it seems particularly relevant for me to learn it. I also wouldnt mind living in China; not knowing Chinese while living in China seems extremely rough to me.

1 Like

I learn languages of countries where I would like to live or work. Central and South America (Spanish and Portuguese), Southern Europe (Spanish, Portuguese, Italian), English speaking countries, the Arab world… My next language will probably be Persian as I wouldn’t mind living / working in Iran, plus I love the sound of Persian, Iran’s culture, etc… I know I’ll easily fall in love with Persian.

In the case of Arabic, it’s also because I’m from an Algerian background but wasn’t taught the language as a kid. Arabic was the first reason I became a language enthusiast. It is and will be the language of my life.