How to treat new vocab (LingQs)

My usual manner of study is to quickly skim through a text and mark down all unknown vocab, study the heck out of them, then go back and read (and listen) to the text; then, when I feel comfortable, move onto the next text and do the same thing while periodically reviewing past vocab.

I’ve grown pretty jaded of this method (I’ve been using it since I started learning, a few years ago) and want to try something more natural but effective.

What methods do you all use for vocabulary acquisition? I remember reading in the LingQ instructions (if I remember correctly) that it’s best to keep reading/listening, creating LingQs as you ago along and not to worry too much about flash cards/vocab lists. Has anyone had success doing this over a prolonged period of time?

I just keep reading and lingqing. Eventually the unknown words will be understood naturally. I never use flashcards or vocab lists for my french and german

5 Likes

In my case, I read, listen, and when I got dead times, I try to remember few words that I have seen or heard before.
Like I try to go as deep as possible within my memory to retrieve few of the words i am not so familiar with.
Anyway it works for me.

Good luck!

Making Lingqs and your Vocabulary isn’t the same.
Making thousands of LingQs, you can read and undestand even the difficult novels of the belletristic literature.
But will you know all these new words?- Obviously no!
Turning LingQs into your acquired vocabulary is a long process.
If you have a good memory, you can remember a lot of the most important words by repeating them in the podcasts, without paying attrention to the flashcards etc.
If not, you have to repeat from time to time new words using flasghcards or multiple choice (I find the last one more useful and less boring).
But in any case, we have to know at least several tousand words to listen to the authentic texts and to speak.