Japanese major with major question and advice

I feel that I am in a bad situation in my language learning. I am a Japanese major at my local university and currently in an upper level class because I passed, and got high grades, in the prerequisite courses. But my problem is that even though I can do the work, when it comes to understanding Japanese speech, I have serious problems with comprehension and understanding what people are saying. I do a lot of things such as listening to music, podcasts, and movies, but I never am able to understand them to any real level where I know what is going on.

I have been studying Japanese for about 4 years at the community college and university level and off and on over a 8 year period since 2008. I even did one year in Japan on exchange program. But even so, I still have very low comprehension on listening comprehension. Because of this I have problems understanding my upper level classes since they are only taught in Japanese and I don’t do well in conversations.

I guess I am very concerned because I feel that I am the only one with this problem in my class. I guess I am asking if anyone out is in a similar situation. Also, if you were, how did you improve. I hope that my post made sense. If there is anything that I need to add, please let me know.

I would suggest you get busy LingQing.

1 Like

What Steve said…

Negative comment time!

Change majors to something that can get you employed (you can still go to grad school for Japanese with a PoliSci, Business, Engineering, or any other degree) and start learning Japanese intensively on your own. You’re not going to learn the language just by being a Japanese major, and if you’re going to work on Japanese on your own time enough to become actually good at it, you might as well be majoring in something else.

I actually agree with your comment.