How to kick off speaking

I’ve known for quite some time now that it is time I started practicing actually speaking Korean. Life is busy and to be honest my language learning is secondary to a lot of things. So I move ever more toward making this next step of doing some 1 on 1 conversation.

I signed up for iTalki a while ago but then became rather reluctant. Today I made a short list of tutors who are active and are able to do lessons at the times of day I could make it.

I’m on the cusp of actually contacting one (or two) to do a trial lesson.

So I’m sure many of you here on LingQ have started your speaking similar to me (by getting a tutor).

I want to know if there are things which you found really worked for you.

If you remember your first times not having really spoken before, did you:

• try some kind of prearranged conversation topic?
  • have more of a ‘lesson’ setup with reading text, answering and asking questions on it?
  • work from a study resource which probably included rehearsed or ‘preset’ dialog?

And what kind of feedback was most useful to you after or during the lesson?

Just go cold turkey. Do only 15 minutes the first time. It will be enough. Then work up to longer sessions. It will be tough, in my experience, especially understanding what the tutor is saying. But it will send you back to your input activities with renewed energy.

4 Likes

It’s not as scary as you think, you’ll be nervous and worried about it in the minutes leading up to it and you’ll be scared to death when the call comes in haha, but to be honest, it’s just a basic conversation of perhaps mostly yes or no answering, if you can muster something more than that then you’ve done well.