Step by Step Method for Learning with Linq?

Hey all, I am new to Linq and am wondering what methods you use for learning with Linq. I don’t know if Steve provides a linear method, and was wondering if you all could suggest a method that works well for you. Here is my current one for a new lesson:

1. Listen to audio (repeat about 50 times) trying to understand more and more from context
  2. Read text and Linq new words
  3. Listen to text again (as many times as necessary to understand everything, usually 20 times)
  4. Once I can understand the whole text with just audio, I move on to the next lesson.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

1 Like

Muchas gracias!!

I think you are asking for a method that, at least in the beginning, only uses lingQ. I can’t help you with that, because I use multiple tools.

However, I will make a comment. Listening to a text 70 times seems excessive to me. In the very early stages, I might listen 3 or 4 times; that’s about all I can tolerate. If it was taking me 70 tries to master a lesson, I’d probably trade mastering for doing more lessons.

2 Likes

I would probably get so bored listening to the same thing 70 times. I usually have a few lessons and switch between them depending on what I want to listen to at the moment. Also I create the LingQs after the first listen, so I actually know the meaning of the words.

But I suppose the point is to do whatever you enjoy doing, as long as you’re being exposed to the language, so If you enjoy listening to a lesson so many times: well done.

It seems too excessive to me as well!
It’s enough to listen 1-2 times without reading, then read and make lingqs with new words and after that to mlisten again 1-2 times.
If you didn’t give too difficult text to you, it’s quite enough.

But the method ‘Step by Step’ that I like and advocate just means not to be in hurry and learn a new language step by step, gradually making a good base for the real success.

3 Likes