Word Count: Japanese vs. Korean

I’m curious why the number of words necessary to “level up” in lingq is so much more in Korean than Japanese. Though I have never studied Korean, I was under the impression that the structure was relatively similar to Japanese. However while the word requirement to get to “Advanced 2”, for example, is 22000 in Japanese, it takes 42000 (almost double) in Korean. Anyone know why this is?

Hi amop567,
The known word count represents your potential in the language. The number of words needed to be comfortable in conversations will vary from language to language, since some languages are more inflected than others.
Hope this helps!

1 Like

I have no knowledge of Japanese. At least for Korean the word count needs to address this:

Those are a good set of official conjugations right there - I’m very sure there are many more than that including various modifiers for nuance. Then there are grammatical principles to convert verbs to nouns and be able to fill other uses in the language.

So I’m guessing Japanese might be similar in many regards and the people at LingQ just found that for the same breadth of expression, people can amass double the number of words (by LingQ’s definition) to get there.

IMHO the numbers are fairly arbitrary anyway. They serve simply as goal posts for those who want to work toward some ‘measurable’ achievement. Or thats my take anyhow

1 Like

I guess it means Korean is that much more complex than Japanese.
Structurally they are similar but Korean has a lot more variations in verb inflection as zoran mentioned.

To start with, while Japanese is based on 50 unique sounds, Korean can have over 10,000 theoretically, of which some several hundred are actually used.
In addition, there seems to be more ways of expressing things in many parts of the language.

The basic sentence endings are a good example.

In Japanese, verbs like する has the two forms する and します for present tense, indicative endings.