Speaking earlier or later

I recently came across this post on the internet by Benny Lewis and I was wondering what successful second language learners on lingq thought about it.

The silent period - a comfortable way to waste time » Fluent in 3 Months

I feel no urgency to speak all at the moment mainly because I’m still a beginner and would prefer to be able to read and understand most native material first. According to the article I’m just a procrastinator and wasting my time, but I don’t see the point in talking about useless things like introductions etc/ beginner topics. I would rather wait until I could have a more meaningful conversation.

This isn’t the first post I’ve seen on the subject. I remember another one where the guy basically said if you’re not speaking at least half and hour 3 times a week, your spinning your wheels and not going to progress.

Is this necessary to speak early to make the best progress? Since I’ve never learned another language I would like to hear other successful second language learners weigh in on this subject.

I’m under the impression that most advice about learning languages (and many other things, as well) is phrased in terribly radical terms.
I think a bit of perspective is much needed: there’s more than one way to learn a language.
Here at Lingq we sometimes give a too extreme piece of advice in the opposite direction: Don’t “force yourself” to talk too soon! It’s all about input! …
My own position is more similar to Stephen Kaufman/Lingq’s: tackling comprehension and improving your vocabulary is the bottleneck in the language learning process. But I wouldn’t put it in the extreme terms sometimes found in the forum.

So, definitely, no you’re not a procrastinator for delaying conversation. Stephen Kaufmann has learned quite a few languages doing exactly that. I’m more or less doing the same in my study of Russian and I’m pretty happy with my progress so far.