My current strategy

I’ve thought that some of you might find it interesting to know about my current approach to learning my target language. Either as something you’d like to try, food for thought or to comment/criticize/contrast it with other approaches.

Some background: I started learning Russian in Lingq in March. So, I’ve been here for about 9 months. Previously, I had gone through the Assimil book on Russian for about 3 months. So, I’ve been learning Russian for about one year. In this time I’ve gone beyond the 10000 words, as per Lingq’s reckoning. This result is very much in line with what Josu said in this very useful thread: https://www.lingq.com/forum/25/36930/
During this time I’ve been going from one Lingq lesson to another, adding some content from the net from time to time.
Now, I feel more confident and I can engage in small conversations, making lots of mistakes and struggling to find words.

Now, I want to take it to a new level. What I’m beginning to do is this:

1. “Compulsive” written content without audio.
    I’ve begun reading novels. I plan to read a whole one during the next months. It may be one of Alexandr Belyaev’s works, because I happen to like sci-fi and I think it’s modern enough to provide useful vocabulary. Wikisource has the whole text of several of them.
    I’ll just read on. No flashcards, no reviewing material, no audio (except listening to individual words in order to check pronunciation). I’ve had some success in other languages by essentially just reading interesting material and the audio slows me down and I don’t think it’s that useful. Novels tend to have too complicated language and there’s a tendency to rely too much on the written text when you have it.

Purpose of point 1: acquiring vocabulary.

1. Instructional videos.