Beginning Portuguese: Assuming C1/C2 level in Spanish, when should LingQs be added for Portuguese?

Hello all,

I am at a C1/C2 level with my Spanish, and therefore after a few weeks of studying Portuguese and getting used to the sounds, I can understand infinitely more words and phrases than I can produce. In other words, I can produce little to nothing, but can understand 70-100% (depending on the dialogue). In such a scenario, when do I add LingQs? For example: let’s take a sentence as easy “I can speak a little Portuguese”. off the top of my head, I can’t think of how to say it, but could easily understand it. If I came across this sentence, should I add a LingQ for every word in that sentence?

Thanks!

Having gone from Spanish to Portuguese I have some experience. Don’t worry about what you can say now. Enjoy the language, listen and read a lot. There are always words in Portuguese that surprise you. Either you don’t know what they mean, or they are quite different from Spanish. I LingQed a little over 4,000 words and phrases over more than a year, off and on.Mostly I just listened and read. I used a lot of intermediate material to get the flow of the language. You can find some of this material in our library.You should start reading books and listening to podcasts of interest to you.

It took me longer than I expected to get used to the language, to where I could start speaking. With enough input, you start to be able to say things, your vocabulary just activates. You may start speaking whenever you want,of course, but based on my experience, you will need 3 months or so of solid input to get to where your speaking will really take off.

Interesting, I’ve never tried purely input based learning. I’m excited to try it the other way around this time! Sounds great in theory, especially since it’ll mean that my listening will definitely never be behind my speaking, as was/has been the case with my first two languages.