Do we need to write?

I am studying Polish and my goal is to speak and understand others. Until now I have not given any interest to writing, because I believe that speaking and listening is hard enough. However, my gut is telling me that something is really missing, that I would be learning faster if I took some times for writing practice. Bear in mind that I suspect I will never write much in Polish. Is this feeling correct? If so, how people practice writing? I guess it might be just writing whatever and asking for corrections, right?

I feel a similar way about German. I can write the language without huge difficulty but I basically never do it. I think writing is an excellent activity. When I write German, I think about the difficult grammar stuff more carefully and have time to really try to get it right. I also look up the genders of the nouns that I use. I don’t know any other good way to learn genders.

I am currently snowed under with work at the moment, but this will be over in about a week. After that, I will probably take some active steps to start writing more. Maybe I will post some stuff in the forum here, but I will probably try to find some discussion boards in German for subjects I am interested in and get involved in some discussions.

I think we must.
I have been learning English (and German), and recently decided to read every one of the novels and short stories written by W. Somerset Maugham. Reading novels or short stories is recommended by Kato Lomb and others as the best way to master speaking in the language you are learning. Reading them is also beneficial, or rather, indispensable to writing something in that language.

"Language is present in a piece of writing like the sea in a single drop. "–Kato Lomb