How useful is MSA?

I’ve been studying Arabic for about 8 months now and ever since I started I have heard many different opinions about how useful or even “reasonable” it would be to study MSA instead of any given dialect.

There are many people out there who keep describing MSA as something similar to “Shakespearean English”. I find that comparison strange (and also completely unfounded) for many reasons. First of all, I’ve never heard any anchorperson speak in Shakespearean English, nor have I read any newspapers in a language that would remind me of the way Shakespeare might have spoken. The same is true of documentaries on TV etc.

I also commonly use MSA when talking to my language partners on skype.

It is quite obvious that people prefer speaking in their local dialects when they are dealing with family members, friends etc. This does not strike me as unusual at all, after all I speak in my dialect as well when I speak to friends, family members, at the local grocery store, with the bus driver etc.

When I’m at work, however, I use standard German.

I’ve decided to study MSA first and then go on and study a couple of dialects (most likely Levantine and Egyptian Arabic).

A couple of months ago I started teaching German to refugees in my hometown. The government offers German courses for refugees, but these courses are either taught in English and/or German. Most of the refugees I work with, however, don’t speak any or only very little German and/or English.

So, I decided to use my still rather limited MSA and I have to say that this works just great. I’ve “students” from Iraq, the Lebanon, Syria, Palestine, Libya, Yemen and Saudi Arabia. They ALL understand and SPEAK MSA. Of course, they use a mixture of MSA and their own dialects when they talk to each other but with me they all communicate in MSA and this has never been a problem.