Value in reading scientific writing? Book recommendations?

Hi!

I recently started learning French on LingQ. I have decided to jump into reading full books pretty early. I like reading about scientific topics. I specifically enjoy astrophysics and ecology, but I’d really be open to anything. My concern is that reading books on these topics won’t help my French very much. To address this concern, I’ve decided to stay away from textbooks and focus on less technical books written for the masses. I know English has plenty of relatively simple books that use everyday language on some “controversial” topics (evolution, climate, ect.). I would also be open to reading biographies about important scientists. I was thinking that I could read a French translation (with audio) of one of theses book to improve my French.

Is it going to be bad to start reading books so early?
Will reading books about science help improve my French, or should I stick to pop fiction and other novels?
Can anybody point me towards a French audiobook about science?

Thanks in advance!
Nate

Bonjour Nate. I am certain reading books on scientific topics is a great idea and will help your French a lot. You could try the French translation of Simon Sighn book on Fermat’s Last Theorem. I loved this book when I read it in English and then again when I read it in German. I think this is it

Hi Nate!

If you enjoy doing it, then do it! :wink:
Unfortunately I know nothing about astrophysics and ecology.

I just started reading “Pourquoi E = MC^2” by Brian Cox and Jeff Foresaw. So far, it seems clearly written and there’s all kinds of useful vocabulary. Unfortunately, there’s no audio.

Here’s the blurb from Amazon: