Using Audacity to slow mp3s

I have been successful using Audacity to slow down mp3 files that I find in various sources…until I tried it with radio podcasts . The files as I download them are mp3, but when I import them to Audacity to edit, they are not usable as is. Does anyone have experience with this ? I want to augment my auditory input, and many of the programs are very interesting to me, but too fast ! I love Audacity, because you can choose what percentage speed or tempo to change.

I use audacity to cut out the not so useful vocab from the FSI and DLI courses.

“The files as I download them are mp3, but when I import them to Audacity to edit, they are not usable as is. Does anyone have experience with this ?”

I have never had a problem importing any type of mp3, so I don’t know what could be the problem.

this is my first time with this problem. I thought an mp3 was an mp3 was an mp3 !

Maybe importing the file into i-tunes (creating another mp3) and then putting the new file into Audacity might work?

What I meant was any piece of audio in mp3 format. There is only one mp3 format, so don’t worry about trying to figure out the different types of mp3. :slight_smile:

I just tried it and same problem. Instead of the file showing up as 1 hour 35 minutes long, it shows up as 3 hours 15 min. long and sounds like machine gunfire. I only have basic experience using Audacity…don’t know if I can change the size of the file…

You might be making the audio go too slow then. This is one of my guesses. Slower you make the original audio, the longer it will be. Or are you sliding the tempo settings a bit too far to the left?

I don’t even get to the point of doing any editing because how it comes in to the program is screwed up (sorry for the lack of technical lingo! I don’t have the vocabulary in any language to describe this). Well, maybe I should start with simply trying to change tempo or speed and see what happens