How many words before

This may be a topic that depends on the language… but what are current thoughts/research on the amount of vocab that is needed to start conversing? What is your opinion on the matter?

What is a usual minimum number of words before a person can start to communicate some basic sentences? Of course, there are some stock phrases- like “Hi, my name is ____. I am X years old. I live in _____.” Beyond the stock phrases, though…what do you think is the minimum to be able to start communicating some rudimentary thoughts?

I don’t know the answer… for a reference point, though- I am studying Japanese, and I currently know 221 words (although that may not be completely accurate given LingQs for studying Hiragana and Katakana- let’s put it at a more conservative number of 129 by removing the syllabary). Clearly this isn’t that many words yet, and it’s obvious, as I’m still not able to say much beyond basic stock phrases. It made me curious, however, where and when that threshold is met.

I am fluent in Spanish after many years of study, but it’s been so long since I started studying the language, I couldn’t tell you when or how many words I had under my belt before I started to feel like I could form any sort of basic communication in the language.

If I did a Skype session right now, despite my Spanish being rusty and far from perfect… I would feel comfortable and could hold a meaningful conversation. In fact, I talk to friends and strangers in Spanish whenever I have the opportunity. Ask me to do a Skype session in Japanese, however, and I’d be downright terrified, hahaha!

I guess I just find the whole topic interesting, and it makes me wonder how long/how many words it will take before I feel like a Skype session with Japanese would be helpful rather than terrifying. Lol. I find the whole process of language learning so fascinating. I’m trying to be more conscious and objective of my progress this time as a matter of curiosity.