Benny Lewes: Beginner to C1 in Chinese in 3 months

It seems that our old friend, Benny the Irish polyglot, is aiming to go from complete beginner’s level to C1 level in Mandarin Chinese - in just three months!

I can’t say exactly what I think about Benny and his antics, because I would most probably be censored if I did. However, I will say that I do not believe that it is possible to do what he claims. If he does pass the C1 exam in Chinese after just three months, then he must have started out with significant prior knowledge and not as a real beginner, in my opinion. (He has some past form at this…)

In the above video Benny also claims to have level C2 (i.e. virtual full native level) in Spanish and French.

Again, I have to tread slightly carefully because of censorship issues, but I am (hopefully?) allowed to say that I suspect that he is being somewhat generous to himself - at least as regards his French.

You should take away from that video that he’s aiming for some kind of “social fluency” as he puts it. I would say that’s more somewhere between B1 and B2. Otherwise, I would also say C1 is impossible.

Benny also clearly states that this is an objective. There is nothing wrong with setting high objectives if you can use that as a motivator.

He writes: “I don’t plan to sit any tests”.

What’s more, there is no “real” CEFR level “C1” exam in Chinese.

The new HSK 5 exam that claims to be like CEFR level “C1” is in fact CEFR level “B1” (see last page in http://bit.ly/xQEqHj )

Don’t forget Benny promises nothing: “I don’t ever consider my language missions to be linguistic objectives, but rather social ones.”

@alexandrac: “…There is nothing wrong with setting high objectives if you can use that as a motivator.”