Japanese Learning Journey Tips Using LingQ

Hello Everyone!

I’m learning Japanese and this is my first time using LingQ as a resource.

I have been learning Japanese on and off for several years. I started doing a self-study using other language learning apps and then took 4 semesters in college. While I did learn some things, I wasn’t comfortable speaking it well and I did have trouble grasping a lot of the kanji characters. I tried going through James Heisig’s Remembering the Kanji but stopped around 800 characters because I was overwhelmed with Anki reviews.

It’s been a few years since I stopped learning Japanese.

I want to try learning Japanese again. But I would like some tips.

1. Which course should I complete first?
  2. How to implement Kanji learning in LingQ?
  3. Is it possible to import Manag into LingQ?
  4. How to utilize flashcard reviews? Can I review sentences only?
  5. Is it possible using a monolingual dictionary (Japanese to Japanese dictionary) in LingQ?
  6. Besides Netflix and Viki, any site recommendations for Japanese movies and dramas?

Regards,
Jennifer

3 Likes
  1. I don’t think there’s a correct answer for this. Find something that you can understand to a reasonable extent and subject matter that is engaging to you.
  2. You can absorb fair amount of kanji on Lingq by just doing a lot of reading. The most common ones will stick once you’ve read them enough. I find it’s also good to do anki reviews (character + meaning + common readings/vocab) to supplement your lingq-ing. Wani-kani is another decent option. I know a lot of people swear by Heisig but his method of makes no sense to me.
  3. Don’t know what that is sorry.
  4. I prefer importing to anki and finding my own example sentences. The sentences that lingq gives you often don’t make sense out of context.
  5. Yes I believe so.
  6. Animelon is great for anime
    https://animelon.com/
2 Likes

Thanks. How do you import to anki?