Hi I am a beginner student with very little knowledge

Hi
I am a beginner student with very little knowledge of French. Am getting perplexed with this phrase Que puis-je faire pour vous? Does it mean, What then, can I do for you? Would love some help, especially with the ‘puis-je faire’ bit please! Many thanks

What can I do for you…There’s no “well”. “Puis” means “(I) can”.

1 Like

Bonjour !

Il s’agit ici du verbe “pouvoir” : Conjugaison pouvoir | Conjuguer verbe pouvoir | Conjugueur Reverso français

Ici, exceptionnellement pour des raisons d’euphonie (de sonorité agréable), la question ne sera pas “peux-je ?”, mais “puis-je?” à la première personne du singulier. “Je puis” est une forme ancienne du verbe “pouvoir”, qui n’est plus vraiment utilisée de nos jours.

Cette page web peut vous aider : puis-je - Traduction anglaise – Linguee

Le verbe ne change pas aux autres personnes.

Bonne continuation !

2 Likes

Hello, Rheaa. Welcome to LingQ.

You do not know much French, and Bedy does not know much English, so perhaps some cooperation is called for here. Here is the gist in English of what Bedy says.

“Puis” is a form of the verb “pouvoir” (“to be able”).

Normally, the first person singular present of “pouvoir” is “peux.” But when the subject-verb order is reversed and the verb is immediately followed by “je” (meaning “I”), the spelling “puis” is used simply because “puis-je” sounds better to the French ear than “peux-je.” “Puis” is an outmoded spelling not much used anymore, except in this situation.

The form of the verb does not change in the other persons of the verb.

I hope this helps. If other explanations in French stump you, Google Translate is often, but not always!, helpful.

Good luck with your language learning!

Hi Donhamiltonx
Thank you very much for explaining the connotation of "puis je "so lucidly and for translating Bedy’s explanation.
Much appreciated!