Latin Pronunciation

Hello, I’m just starting here and wonder if there’s a version of these lessons that uses the classical rather than the ecclesiastical pronunciation.

I’m only new to Latin myself and prefer the Classical pronunciation. Good work by those people creating lessons (or is it only Mikebond?). But, I do love the classical style.

It’s almost only mikebond (alleray recorded some lessons too), and mikebond learnt the Ecclesiastical pronunciation at school. He translated AND recorded the lessons himself.
Someone else can make another translation and a new recording with the Classical pronunciation.

I’m not new to Latin, just this site as a way to brush up on it, and haven’t spent any time on it yet. I definitely prefer the classical pronunciation, as the ecclesiastical is a distortion - not that I have anything against Italian.

By the way, I was very impressed with Mikebond’s profile! Danged Europeans have all the advantages when it comes to learning multiple languages. Would you like to see my one-page satire of Rigoletto I wrote for my 2nd-year Italian class, Mike? Some people found it amusing, at least.

Eeek, I don’t like that word ‘distortion’. Makes it sound like something terrible. haha It’s just as valid…perhaps moreso, because it’s got a history. The thing is, for me at least, that I just don’t belong to the religion. Given a choice, I’ll go with the classical pronunciation because I’m not learning Latin to be able to read Latin prayers in Church. Instead, I’m interested in the literature of the Roman Empire firstly and the other stuff comes later for me. Also, I’ve got a large linguistic interest, and looking at older forms of the language are of interest to me, in regards to their its relation with other ancient IE languages. The classical pronunciation works better when comparing to Greek, Sanskrit, Avestan, etc. It’s about being comfortable.