Too long to be Beginner 1?

I suppose this lesson is too long for the chosen level, even if the language used is suitable to beginners.
Maybe, since it contains several stories, it could be split into as many shorter lessons.

I would make each paragraph a separate lesson, if possible, and I would eliminate the English in the texts. This may be too much work however.

There is English on the recording, which does not matter since it does not mess up our statistics.

1 Like

Steve, if you give me a pencil for Latin, I can do this later.

Michele, I would have thought that it is nice for beginners to have longer texts. Particularly if you feel the language is suitable. Splitting it up would be a shame in my eyes.

I am a beginner too, though not in Latin. As a beginner, I appreciate something I can get my teeth into. The problem with the beginner library is that the texts are all just a couple of minutes long. I bet you I am not the only one who feels this way!

I am like you, Maria, but I know Steve and many other members prefer very short Beginner 1 texts.

@mikebond - I’ve now given you editor access for all languages. That should make it easier :slight_smile:

Wow, thanks! Even for Arabic? :wink:

1 Like

Intermediate 1, surely? I like it though :wink:

Why Intermediate 1, Helen? You mean because of the length? It’s still too easy to be Intermediate 1. Now I can split it into shorter lessons, as Steve wished, but it seems other learners like longer beginner lessons (Maria, and me too), so I’m not sure of what I should do with this lesson.

I have now translated the English titles into Latin, so there is no English in the transcript. Please, let me know if I should split this lesson into ten parts (and remove the English parts of the audio files at the same time).

I have used a scientific approach, based on the hypothesis that if I can’t understand a word of it it’s probably intermediate 1 or higher.