It looks like you are using an old version of Internet Explorer. Sorry, we only support IE 10 and above. To use the site you will need to use a more up to date browser. We strongly recommend you upgrade to:

Hi steve!

Firstly I would like to thank for your effort and for your helpful website.As ESL student one of the worse things that I have to face is pronunciation(I am spanish) Despite that I am an advanced student because of my mother language I always find some difficulties with pronunciation.My dream is to sound like an English person.

What kind of actions would you recommend me to take in order to imrpove my pronunciation and to look more professional.I live in the uk but I found some difficulties for practising my english and because of my lack of confidence,I also teach spanish here.
Many thanks.

Obviously I am not Steve but I have helped a few Spanish people for a short period with their English so I hope you find this useful and don't mind me contributing here.

If I were you I would identify sounds in spanish that are different to english and work on those specificly. For example, can you say juggle jam jar without sounding spanish? Do you say e-spanish? Can you tell the difference between the "i" in "difference"/English and the "i" in "diferencia"/Spanish. These are some of the common mistakes that I hear spanish natives make when trying to speak english. The reason I notice this is because I am learning spanish and my pronunciation could be better too! Hope it helps :)

My Mum is Spanish, she moved to England when she was 19 and is now 80. She has never got to grips with the accent, so good luck :) but saying that, i think she was always proud of her aspanish accent.

Some words can come out a little funny. As kids I recall us laughing when she would shout: 'throw your dirty sheets down'. She would pronounce 'ee' as we would 'i'.