I've hit a language learning roadblock

Hey guys,

So regardless of the language you’re learning maybe you’ll have advice? Basically in Russian, I’ve been learning for a few years. I have gotten to the point where I know all the basic words and can understand/read the general context of what someone is saying but never the details.

All the words in the first thousand I know by now and I’m sure a whole load more. Problem is…after you’ve learnt all the basic words where do you start learning the less common words?

It’s easy to learn the basic and most commonly used words because you hear them all the time in speech or writing, you note them down and you memorize them faster. With less common words it’s not so easy. I feel I’m stuck not knowing how to widen my vocab, even if I were to learn at random a new word from a word list, I might never hear it used in speech often enough to allow me to memorize it, and I’d just for get about it soon after.

It’s frustrating!

Hi.

I think an important thing to remember once you feel like you’re starting to stagnate, is that it was always a slow grind. At this point it just feels worse because one new word seems really insignificant once you know a few thousand.

To answer your question; I think that finding content of interest would be really important at this point. Find a subject and read a lot about it. As an example I read about art, and words like composition, harmony, light, shadow, brush strokes etc. will show up again and again. In addition to learning new words I get to read about my interests.

Not the most helpful advice in the world, but I hope it might help you to stay motivated and keep pushing. Good luck.

2 Likes

I agree. Read and listen to material that interests you. Even native speakers will know more words relevant to topics that interest them.