Reading in a second language

I am new to learning a second language. The idea that one could some day read a book in a second language blows my mind.

My Korean language exchange partner is reading an English book called “The Job”. I wrote about us trying to get through the first page.

My conclusion? English is a cRaZy language! You need so much knowledge to read a book set in a foreign country.

I picture trying to make sense of this book just looking up individual words in the dictionary, the way I do now for Korean. I think it is true … words have no meaning in English. You only get to the point where groups of words in context have meaning.

1 Like

Ya, English has a lot of ambiguities and can often be very confusing for English learners.

1 Like

A few years ago, I´ve tried reading books in English but I didn´t finish even one of them. I guess it´s mostly because books have an “intimidating format” - I pick up a book, see that it has 500 pages and then I´m like “Ain´t nobody got no time fo dat!” (<— Ain't Nobody Got Time for That!-Original - YouTube )

I prefer reading short articles with spectacular headlines.^^

“I think it is true … words have no meaning in English. You only get to the point where groups of words in context have meaning.”
(Ozzy) “Ya, English has a lot ambiguities and can often be very confusing to English learners.”

I´ve made the same experience with German, French and Japanese.

2 Likes

@Paule89 English is my one of my Native tongues, and German is your Native Tongue. But we make mistakes, and it’s ok because it isn’t the end of the world.
You can read whatever you want, but one day you will be able to read an English book. I haven’t gotten to the stage where I can start reading books in German yet, but I will sooner or later if I want to improve.

2 Likes