Have you ever felt impatient with language learning?

It occurred to me recently that I am a complete novice who is trying to run, except as a novice learner I am more like a baby. I can babble and maybe roll over, but there are no marathons in my near future. Haha.

I looked at the initial lessons, and I wanted to gobble them up quickly to get past the introductory stuff and on to the “good stuff”. Because I have tried a lot of books, audio, and websites, I have done “Greetings” a hundred times. Yeah, yeah, I can say “Hello my name is …” Teach me something new!

Koreans have a saying. 빨리 빨리! It means QUICK QUICK! I want my language learning to quick, quick get past saying hello and teach me something I can actually use in conversation with my Korean pen pals.

Have you felt impatience with language learning? Have you wanted to rush ahead? Have you jumped in to the lake before you could swim?

I have no right to be corresponding with Koreans. I can’t even form sentences yet. I know nouns. Hundreds of nouns. I write English sentences and toss in nouns I know. I look up more nouns in the dictionary every time I sit down to write a letter to a pen pal, because I am so eager to express myself and learn.

What has been good about jumping in is I am motivated. Having real people to talk to made the difference in changing me from someone who was language curious to someone hungry enough to learn that I was able to overcome my shyness and fear of making mistakes and embarrassment at being unable to pronounce words. I had to overcome the fact that I sound like a child, not an intelligent adult, when I try to express myself with limited vocabulary.

I am someone who has never learned a language successfully. I don’t know how. High school Spanish was a dismal failure.

My 3 months of self study has given me hope that perhaps I can learn Korean. Perhaps with years of practice, I will be able to speak.