English and German

English and German

I started learning English when I was twelve years old and I am still learning.
I started learning German when I entered university and I continued learning for at least six years. Although I majored in Economics first, and then Sociology, I spent a lot of time learning German. I enjoyed studying German grammar and reading German literature–including novels–, but I failed to spend enough time for German soon, especially after I got a post. German became Greek to me. I tried to restart learning German several times, but it failed every time.

I turned sixty-five years old, and I am wondering if I should restart again.
. . .

Englisch und Deutsch

“Ich begann, Englisch zu lernen, als ich zwölf Jahre alt war, und ich lerne immer noch. Ich fing an, Deutsch zu lernen, als ich in der Universität und ich weiter lernen für mindestens sechs Jahre. Obwohl ich studierte Wirtschaftswissenschaften zuerst, und dann Soziologie, verbrachte ich viel Zeit, Deutsch zu lernen. Ich habe das Studium der deutschen Grammatik und Lesen der deutschen Literatur - darunter Romane -, aber ich konnte nicht genug Zeit für die deutschen bald zu verbringen, vor allem, nachdem ich einen Beitrag. Deutsch wurde griechisch für mich. Ich habe versucht, neu zu starten, Deutsch zu lernen mehrmals, aber jedes Mal gescheitert.”

I wonder how useful Google Translate is.

Most of Google translate is understandable but there are often funny mistakes in these automatic translations. Sometimes wrong words are chosen, because a word can have several meanings.

In this case a lot of the grammar is wrong. Same for word order and punctuation. I can recommend Google translate only to give a gist what is written in a foreign language. But never take it for granted that you get the real meaning. And definitely you will not get the subtleties.

Thank you for your comment, VeraI.

「ドイツ語の困難は主として理屈で片付くが、英語の困難は経験と習慣によってしか片付かない」(関口存男)

@Yutaka Nachträglich “Herzlichen Glückwunsch”!