Korean pronunciation

Hi

I don’t understand one thing: I’m studying korean alphabet, and i see that character can be pronunce differently. Exemple
나비
I read nabi but i hear dabi
보세요
I read buseyo but I hear puseyo

it’s normal?

Yup, Korean consonants don’t match exactly with English consonants - they are instead meant as a general guide. In the end, you’re best off familiarizing yourself with what the different consonants and vowels in Korean sound like, then spending time listening to the language to actually refine your pronunciation of specific words.

I think 나비 sounding like dabi is because of bad quality of recording or some software distorting it (like Google Translate). 나 is seldom confusing.

보세요 does sound like “puseyo”(or “poh-sei-you”) with “p”. The ㅂ is usually written as “b” in romanization, but its actual sound is closer to “p” often times, especially when it comes at the beginning of a word. It is difficult to describe it but its sound is what you get if you weaken the aspiration (the sharp puffing h-like sound) in English “p” and vibrate your throat area a litlle. It is a duller and heavier version of English “p” when at the beginning, and becomes somewhat softer (closer to “b”) when not at the beginning, like in 나비. You should listen carefully to native speakers to get the hang of it.

Anyway, even though it’s not quite the “b” sound, ㅂis represented as “b” in writings because there is also ㅍwhich sounds pretty much the same as English “p”. And there is one more, ㅃ, which is a bit like the French and Spanish “p” (“Paris”) but stronger. So these consonent sets (ㄱ/ㅋ/ㄲ, ㄷ/ㅌ/ㄸ, ㅂ/ㅍ/ㅃ, ㅈ/ㅊ/ㅉ, ㅅ/ㅆ, …) and greater variety of vowels make Korean more difficult than Japanese in the beginning (but not using Kanji as much compensates in the long run).

1 Like