Wie lange bis Film verstehen oder einfache Roman lesen?

I’m sorry my German isn’t yet good enough to post a question in … but I’m wondering how long people think it takes on average to understand a German movie and to read a novel (non-literary but something at the level of say a krimi or general contemporary fiction)? I’m guessing they could be quite different timelines.

I’ve been using LingQ for about 2 weeks and am doing a beginner 2 course which feels the right level for me (I didn’t start as a complete beginner). I know I’m still a long way off but it would be good to have a timeframe to work towards… Thanks.

I am learning English, and I am a Little older, but for me it lasted Long and I do not understand everything correctly.
I think, there is no timeframe, it depends of the learner!
Try it, again and again. Suddenly you get the feeling, it will be better and better.

What I like to do is, to read English book on my kindle. There, I have a dictionary, too, and I I am unsure for the word, I can mark it and see what it is.

But it is every time good to listen to the German language as often as possible, so you can get the Sound in your brain. It doesn’t depend on understanding everything!

After 6 months living in Germany I could watch soap operas on TV and see most mainstream movies at the cinema well enough to enjoy them (i.e. getting at least 85% of the dialogue.)

Reading novels is a different matter entirely. The vocabulary of literary German is MUCH deeper than the vocabulary needed for normal conversation, and the syntax is probably more complex too. After about a year I could speak German reasonably fluently - but it took another year (at least) before I could comfortably read fiction.

Personally I would recommend that you saturate your brain with purely spoken language for about a year before even trying to read fiction.