Dieser Satze

Hallo! Ich bin ein deutsche Student und habe ein fragt. Was ist dieser Satze" Halt die Fresse"?

Hello! I’m a German student and have a question. What is this phrase" Halt die Fresse"?

Es bedeutet “shut up”.
Man kann “Halt die Schnauze”, “Halt den Mund”, “Halt’s Maul”, “Halt die Klappe” usw auch sagen… die Deutschen haben viele Weisen, dies zu äußern :wink:

" Ich bin ein deutsche Student"

No, you´re not.^^
“Ein deutscher Student” is a male person from Germany, who studies something (but not German) at a university.

“Ich studiere Deutsch” would mean that you´re taking German as a major at uni.
You can say “Ich lerne Deutsch”, which means that you´re learning German.

2 Likes

I would not recommend to use “Halt die Fresse!” It is quite impolite. Same for the other suggestions of lynkusu. If my daughter would use this, I would not be happy. Only uneducated people would use it. “Halt die Klappe” is still impolite but not so terrible like the other ones in my opinion if you speak slang.

For example I would prefer the following expressions: “Sei bitte ruhig.”, “Sei still, bitte.” or simply “Es reicht.” or “Genug.”

@Veral “I would not recommend to use “Halt die Fresse!” It is quite impolite.”

Lynkusu wrote that it means “shut up”, which is just as impolite.

“Only uneducated people would use it.”

Because being impolite means being uneducated…

That’s a shame, Paul, I always thought you were nice, but you haven’t gone to university, so I guess you’re just a giant asshole…

Your level of education doesn’t influence your “level of politeness” any more than it does your favourite colour. It doesn’t even determine how smart you are. It might influence how many stupid mistakes such as “could of” you make, but, in all fairness, that’s still not guaranteed… at all.

Besides… some situations just call for ‘more impolite’ expressions. I mean, if you accidentally smash your thumb with a hammer, you’re not gonna exclaim “Well gosh darn it!”…