Hi, what is the difference between "Estoy" and "Yo soy"?

Hi, what is the difference between “Estoy” and “Yo soy”? They both seem to mean “I am”? In what cases should I use each one?

@ce_ nedra

Have a look at Google! :wink:

http://www.spanishdict.com/answers/100040/ser-and-estar

http://www.wikilengua.org/index.php/ser/estar

j;-)

Thank you! :slight_smile:

ce_nedra,
¡Buen día!

What you are really asking about is the difference between the ‘to be’ verbs estar and ser.

I highly recommend the book “Correct Your Spanish Blunders” [McGraw Hill] by Jean Yates.
Pages 87-90 and 308-310 are devoted to differences between estar and ser. It has lots of examples.

When adjectives are used with estar, the meaning changes from when they are used with ser.

(to a girl:) Eres muy bonita. You’re so pretty.
(to a girl:) ¡Estás muy bonita! You look really good today!

ser describes your identity:
Soy estudiante. I am a student.
estar describes a state of being:
Estoy cansado. I’m tired. (male voice)

estar can be used with the present participle: to be doing something
Estoy comiendo/durmiendo/caminando. I am eating/sleeping/walking.
What’s nice about this construction is that when person changes, the participle doesn’t change:
La mujer está comiendo/durmiendo/caminando. The woman is eating/sleeping/walking.

¡Mucha suerte!

@brucenator

Thank you for your thorough reply. Very helpful.

de nada

One more thing I should mention about ‘yo.’
In Spanish, the verb defines person, so subject pronouns are generally unnecessary. Subject pronouns are mostly used for emphasis.
‘Yo’ as the subject pronoun is really only necessary to emphasize yourself. Otherwise, avoid using ‘yo’ (or any other subject pronoun) altogether, as it is already indicated by the verb and context.

Examples:
Soy profesor.
I am a teacher.

Yo, yo soy profesor y ella, ella es médico.
Me, I’m a teacher, and she’s a doctor.

Chus, abre la puerta. Soy yo, ce_nedra.
Chus, open the door. It’s me, ce_nedra.