So what about Kanji?

Hi, I have a question about learning Kanji. I tried to do it my usual way (with detailed explanation of my needs) and it turned into a 1000-word essay. So I’ll just ask the question in the following paragraph, and if you want to read the whole thing you can just continue reading:

Short version:
I need a system for learning Kanji that’s efficient, lets me work at my own pace, and also teaches character writing. I’ve already tried: Remembering the Kanji (via kanji.koohii.com), Kanji Odyssey 2001 (with Anki), and Obenkyo. You can just keep reading for more details.

Long version:
First I’d like to provide some background on my efforts to learn Japanese, so you’ll know where I’m coming from. I apologize in advance for the lengthy post.

I started learning Japanese many years ago. It has always been a hobby for me (never a professional or academic necessity). But my end goal has always been native-level proficiency in speaking, reading and writing.

Unfortunately, seeing as Japanese has always only been a hobby for me, my learning efforts have been sporadic. I’d go through bursts of intense studying over holidays, and then when school or work resumed I wouldn’t touch Japanese for months at a time (except for the occasional Anime)

In 2012 I spent 6 months doing an internship in Japan. There I discovered I could speak somewhat decent Japanese, but my vocabulary was severely lacking (I’m here to fix that!)

Just like Steve, I believe the key to proficiency is a lot of exposure - listening, and mainly reading. Which brings me to the point of this post - Kanji.

I’ve tried several methods and tools for learning Kanji. Each has helped me progress, but none of them has brought me what I aim for - a high level of proficiency (approaching mastery in the limit) in reading and writing of the roughly 2000 to 3000 characters needed to be truly literate in the language. I’ll briefly mention what methods I’ve tried: