What is your words read to words learned ratio?

Hey,

I’m studying Korean at the moment and my own words read to words learned ratio (hereafter I will refer to this my WRWL) is about 43 / 1. For every 43 words I read I learn 1 new word. My ‘real world’ ratio is actually probably lower because Korean has so many compound words, and the same word can be counted many times in ‘words known’ in its various grammatical forms (although I still regard this as legitimate, since these grammatical variations must be learned).

What about my fellow Lingqers, what is your WRWL?*

*To work out your WRWL you divide the number of words you have read in a language by the number of words you know. If you want to get a recent WRWL estimate just do the same thing only with your activity in the past week or month.

Thanks, I’m looking forward to your responses.

108/1. In my defense, I have the memory of a fish.

1 Like

I never measured it, but I have definitely noticed a significant improvement in my retention of vocabulary by using google images. I search the new word ( especially if it’s a noun ) on it rather than read the English translation. Apparently, this somehow approximates how one learns his/her native language.

Does one’s level of knowledge influence the ratio?

My main interest lies in reading, so I am not too bothered about “knowing” a word, I am happy if I can get the gist of the words I am reading. In French It seems to be getting harder to find texts where there are totally unknown words, ie where I cannot guess their meaning.

30/1 with russian.

I’m going to be honest, i don’t enjoy reading that much. However, I have noticed an improvement in my learning of words from reading out loud, and so have been concentrating on getting my reading done more than listening as of late.

Reading is pretty much my only target when learning a foreign language.

What seems to be the case is that the more you know the more easily you can guess a word’s meaning from context.