Is the Exchange Dead?

There have been tons of discussions in the past about points and the expiration of points, and I don’t want to revisit any of that. However, I do have a more general question for those of you who have been active on the site longer than I have (or for the staff). I’ve been studying Korean for several months and am currently doing a 90 day challenge. I want to meet all of my targets, including speaking and writing. I’ve done some speaking off the site and entered it in, and of course I could do the same with writing. But, if I can get good writing correction from a tutor or have meaningful fifteen minute conversations with a tutor who then sends me a report, that seems worth a few bucks…

However, I’ve noticed that there is very little, if any, current activity on the Exchange, at least for Korean. There hasn’t been any writing corrected in months and there haven’t been Korean conversation times listed for weeks. I guess I could contact tutors one by one and ask them, but I can’t even tell who is still active on the site.

Any thoughts? Should I just use LingQ for listening, reading, and vocabulary, and go elsewhere for speaking and writing?

Also, if I’m completely misunderstanding how conversations and writing correction works, please correct me.

I cannot speak for Korean but in general you’ll not see all Exchange activities on the Exchange site because requests can be made privately. I for myself only correct writings if they were sent privately, because I dislike to compete with other tutors not knowing how many points I’ll get in the end.

You should ask Alex (from the LingQ stuff) which Korean tutor he recommends: Login - LingQ

4 Likes

Hi! The Exchange, as VeraI notes, only displays publicly shared activities. To find a tutor, go to “Exchange > Find a Tutor”. You can use the filters on the left to, for example, list tutors by Activity Score or Recently Active to find tutors who have been active.