When should I begin another language?

I have been studying Korean for about nine months, but I have really been consistent and efficient with it about half that time. I’m really enjoying it, but I am also itching to improve my Spanish, which I had for several years in school but haven’t used or been exposed to very much since then. So I’m not an absolute beginner, but not far above that. Given where I live and what I do for a living, I have many more opportunities to use Spanish and it would therefore also be more immediately useful to me (as opposed to Korean, where I have more cultural interest but less regular contact with native speakers beyond the Internet). Having never really learned a second language to anything that could be called fluency, I’m not sure if I should start spending significant time on Spanish while still dabbling in Korean or stick with Korean until I have a significantly higher level of comfort with it. I don’t want to squander my efforts in Korean thus far, but I do want to eventually get to a comfortable level in both.

I realize there are differing opinions on this, but that’s ok. I’m interested in any advice more experienced language learners have to offer.

I’m sure other people will jump in here and share their ideas, but if you want to see some of the past discussions on this topics, here is a search I did: Login - LingQ

1 Like

Thanks for that, Jingle. I did a similar search, but it seems like most of the discussion has been about learning multiple languages at the same time, more than when you should move on when you’re primarily focusing on one at a time.

For example, in one of those threads, Steve responds by saying, in part, “I think it is best to concentrate on one language at a time until you achieve a comfortable level.” So my question is more about when you know you’re at that “comfortable level.”