Do you use Anki? If so, how long have you been using and how good is it for YOU?

Hey guys, how are you all doing?

I’m new to this kind of software (spaced repetition). I’ve been using Anki for almost 1 month now and it seems to be wonderful.
I’d like to know more about your experiences with Anki, does it help with your speaking? how long have you been using it?

I used it for a while. Have now switched to Skritter, primarily because it supports handwriting recognition for kanji. (Obviously not relevant if you’re studying a European language.)

I’m sold on the value of spaced repetition, agnostic on whether Anki specifically is the best way to do it.

1 Like

Just getting back into Anki for my current project (Kichwa) after abandoning all spaced repetition systems some time ago for Spanish. Anki is good, does the job. I like the fact it is easy to import from LingQ to Anki so you can integrate them nicely. However for me it is a necessary evil rather than something I enjoy, giving me the vocabulary to start reading. Anki is good because you can do it on your phone in “dead time” waiting in queues or on the bus. With Spanish I ended up spending too much time doing SRS that I could have spent doing things more interesting and engaging with the real living language. In that sense I think it actually slowed down my progress. In the future I intend to use it sparingly and strategically, it is not a substitute for reading and listening. However if you are learning a new language script I’m sure it is much more important.

1 Like

Hi.
I’ve been using it for exactly 727 days (Japanese).

Some people love it, some people hate it. If you are not careful you’ll end up doing hundreds if not thousands of repetitions (thankfully, there are some nice plugins to perform load balancing).

I went through some phases as an Anki user:

1. Enthusiast: I was thrilled by the perceived progress, at first I was able to “learn” 20 to 50 cards/notes a day.