How long did you take to learn your first foreign language?

How long did you take to learn your first foreign language to a fluent level? and how was your method?

Like everyone else in Norway, I started learning my second language, English when I was six years old. In the beginning all I did was learn the simple words and phrases from my school books. It wasn’t until I was about 13 that I actually gained some interest in the language. I played a lot of video games, so I was exposed rather early. I wanted to understand what they were saying and what was written, and so naturally I started to understand more and more. I payed more attention in class, and volunteered more when it came to reading out loud. At home, I would read books, and magazines, watch movies, TV shows, surf the web, and so on and so forth. It just kind of snowballed like that until I got good. I guess when I was 16, I was at a fluent conversational level. I’m 20 now, and my English proficiency is as good as it has ever been.

3 Likes

It depends on your time spending for your foreign language.
If you spend 2-3 hours a day, you can reach a fluent level in 6 months.
If you spend only 20 minutes a day or 2 hours 1-2 times a week, you need 2-3 years.
BUT: if you reached the fluent level and then stop learning, you lose your fluency in several years.
When I was 5, I could speak fluently Polish and German because my grandfather was from Poland and my gramndmother was from Germany. But since my grandfather died I have never really spoken Polish. And now I can understand 70% of Polish, but I can’t speak. And if I try to speak Polish, I make a lot of mistakes and mix up some Polish words with Russian or German words.
That’s why if you would like to maintain your fluency, you have to continue reading and speaking your target language for your whole life.

5 Likes