Michel Thomas Method

Hello everyone, this is my first post here since joining in December. I don’t know if this has been talked about before, but I feel I have to put in a good word for the Michel Thomas Method. It is really a great program to work through when you are first starting to learn a language. I finished with the CDs right before I started learning German with Lingq. I was amazed at how much I understood the structure of the language, and it has made going through the lessons really productive and now I feel it is more a matter of vocabulary and exposure.
Anyways, thank you Steve and everyone who contributes for Lingq, this is truly a special website and it has gotten me so excited about language learning.

1 Like

I would also say that it was a big help in my early stages of learning Italian.

It’s not in the least for me, but there’s no doubting it’s a popular series.

I really like the Romance language editions. The ones for other language families stress me out.

I agree with David - the Romance language courses from the original series with Michel Thomas definitely had something interesting going on. Maybe it was the fact that these languages are relatively easy for English speakers? Or maybe it was Michel’s personality and charisma which added something special? Either way, the later courses with new teachers don’t quite cut it, IMO.

ad Chris: (…) …It’s not in the least for me, …(…)

Same here.

I listened to some of his German CDs and I thought he said some “weird” things about how to pronounce certain German words. I don’t recall exactly what he said but I do remember that I was convinced that I would not recommend his German course to my foreign friends. The phrases sounded a bit awkward too.