Has a break from learning a language ever benefited you?

I haven’t been studying french for a few days because I am too focused on christmas and buying christmas presents. But I am trying my best to listen to lessons and review words. But my question is… what are the good things about taking a break from learning a language? Has your brain been refreshed? Do you remember more words? I don’t know. But I am curious to know.

jenny, i think that is not good to be far long time from your studies…
but the best method to learning a language, or other thing that you are learning is:
enjoy it! enjoy it!
example, i’m studying english and italian at the “same time” on lingq
some times i study italian for 3…4…5 days… then i get tired of italian…
so i change and start studying english…
have some days that i don’t want to study nothing!
have some times that i want to study both!
once I studied italian a lot! i was so tired but i thought that i needed to continue studying! the result: i did not improve my italian.
now, when i’m tired, i can take a 1day brake… 3days brake…
of course if i travel with my family i will want to be with them, so i don’t study…

of course all of this are my opinion
sorry by my bad english :slight_smile:
my opinion for you = ENJOY IT

Taking a break every once in a while is definitely not a bad thing. I’ve taken breaks over the past several years and have noticed that I often come back to the language more motivated, more attentive and with a clearer understanding of some things. I think as long as either (1) the break isn’t too long or (2) you have an intermediate or higher level in the language, then you should be just fine.